Rotary awards scholarships
by TP staff
May 16, 2013 | 3089 views | 0 0 comments | 62 62 recommendations | email to a friend | print
College scholarships totaling $26,000 have been awarded by the Tracy Rotary Club to 24 graduating high school seniors.

The scholarships, ranging from $750 to $3,000, were presented to the students at a recent Rotary meeting in the Tracy Transit Station.

The winner of a $3,000 John C. Kimball Scholarship was Aloukika Shah of Kimball High School. She carried a 4.7 GPA, has served as student body president and is on the California Association of Student Leaders board. She will attend University of California, Berkeley, as a biochemistry major.

A $2,000 scholarship went to Arashpreet Kaur Gill of Tracy High School, a nationally honored science student who scored a perfect 800 on her Math Level 2 SAT Subject Test. She will attend Vanderbilt University.

Winning $1,500 scholarships were Anumita Kaur and Calvin Ly, both of West High School, and James Thompson and Paul Gleason, both of Tracy High.

Scholarships valued at $1,000 went to Danielle Scheuerlein and Jamie Lam, both of Kimball High; Jeanna Huynh and Gagandeep Sahota, both of West High; and Karina Lizbeth Rojas and Erika Brindopke, both of Millennium High.

Winners of $750 scholarships were Anamarie Mendez, Jullianne Pham and Nathan Pearlman, all of Kimball High; Aiya Madarang, Jessica Diaz, Nicole Wright, Allison Bettencourt, Cody Graves, Danielle Nghiem and Marco Alejandro Morales Espinosa, all of West High; Emily Spencer of Tracy High; and Rachel Briggs of Millennium High.

Scholarship certificates were presented by Dr. Daisy Jones, Tracy Rotary Club’s scholarship chairwoman.

Comments-icon Post a Comment
No Comments Yet

We encourage readers to share online comments in this forum, but please keep them respectful and constructive. This is not a space for personal attacks, libelous statements, profanity or racist slurs. Comments that stray from the topic of the story or are found to contain abusive language are subject to removal at the Press’ discretion, and the writer responsible will be subject to being blocked from making further comments and have their past comments deleted. Readers may report inappropriate comments by e-mailing the editor at