Basketball: All-league honors announced
by Bob Brownne
Mar 12, 2013 | 1996 views | 0 0 comments | 12 12 recommendations | email to a friend | print
Delta Charter High School boys basketball coach Shaun Wilson was named coach of the year in the all-Mountain Valley League selections.

Wilson led the Dragons to a third-straight league championship and a second-round playoff appearance.

He was selected for the honor by his fellow MVL coaches.

It’s Wilson’s third year as the Delta Charter boys coach. He started coaching the girls team in the 2010-11 season and was assistant coach for the boys team in 2011-12, during which he took over as head coach midway through the season.

Wilson said that he and assistant coach Eric Ragsdale were clear about their goals, and a tough schedule early in the season prepared players to make a run at the league title.

“I have to give my props to the team and assistant coaches,” Wilson said. “Going through adversity at the Tracy-West tournament (in late December) helped. We learned a lot about ourselves.”

Coaches vote on all-league selections, with the number of nominees from each team based on how well the team finished in league play.

Mountain Valley League Delta Charter boys (17-8, 13-1 MVL)

Joseph Peebles, senior — first team.

Jordan Thornton, junior — first team

Dramell Pitts, junior — second team

Delta Charter girls (6-16, 5-10 MVL)

Asia Harris, junior — first team

San Joaquin Athletic Association Tracy boys (5-20, 1-9 SJAA)

Josh Brakkee, junior — second team, all-defensive team

Tracy girls (16-11, 7-3 SJAA)

Karsi Fyfe, senior — first team

Emily Anchartechahar, senior — first team

Shelby Perry, senior — second team

Taylor Juarez, senior — honorable mention

Angela Mariani, senior — all-defensive team

Valley Oak League Kimball boys (13-14, 5-9 VOL)

DeVante Baisa, senior — second team

Kimball girls (17-11, 8-6 VOL)

Noni Kuumba, junior — first team

Allison Schmidt, sophomore — second team

Alexis Clark, sophomore — honorable mention

Sarah Nunes, sophomore — honorable mention

Megan Bhathal, senior — all-defensive team

Tri-City Athletic League West boys (18-10, 5-5 TCAL)

Kenneth Daye, senior — first team

Obrien Nnaji, senior — honorable mention

Justin Saar, senior — honorable mention

Hayden Ordone, senior — all-defensive team

West girls (10-17, 1-9 TCAL)

Emma Bell, senior — honorable mention

Ileyah Costa, senior — all-defensive team

Central California Athletic Alliance Millennium boys (15-13, 5-5 CCAA)

Mark DeWitt, senior — first team

Derritt Scarver, senior — second team

Marques Shanks, junior — honorable mention

Millennium girls (6-15, 0-8 CCAA)

Reina Perales, sophomore — honorable mention

• Contact Bob Brownne at 835-3030 or
Comments-icon Post a Comment
No Comments Yet

We encourage readers to share online comments in this forum, but please keep them respectful and constructive. This is not a space for personal attacks, libelous statements, profanity or racist slurs. Comments that stray from the topic of the story or are found to contain abusive language are subject to removal at the Press’ discretion, and the writer responsible will be subject to being blocked from making further comments and have their past comments deleted. Readers may report inappropriate comments by e-mailing the editor at